To the Power of Three

To the Power of Three

Book - 2005
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Baltimore County homicide sergeant Harold Lenhardt faces a baffling case involving three former high school friends, including one who is comatose from a self-inflicted gunshot wound, and another who continuously changes her story.

HARPERCOLL

“Powerful….A gripping tale that is a mystery only in the same sense as To Kill a Mockingbird was….Brilliant, insightful, moving.”
Chicago Sun-Times

There are excellent reasons why New York Times bestselling author Laura Lippman has won the Edgar®, Agatha, Anthony, Nero Wolfe, and every other major award the mystery genre has to offer. To the Power of Three is just one of those reasons. Lippman’s brilliant and disturbing tale of three inseparable high school girlfriends in an affluent Baltimore suburb who share dark secrets literally until death, To the Power of Three is this “writing powerhouse” (USA Today), who has “exploded the boundaries of the mystery genre to become one of the most significant social realists of our time” (Madison Smartt Bell) operating at the very top of her game. Not merely crime fiction, but fiction that gets to the deep psychological, emotional, and human roots of a terrible crime, Lippman’s novel is one that will not be easily forgotten—a must read for fans of Kate Atkinson, Tana French, Jodi Picoult, and Harlan Coben



Blackwell North Amer
The three girls have been inseparable best friends since the third grade - Josie, the athletic one; Perri, the brilliant, acerbic drama queen; and Kat, the beauty, who also has brains, grace, and a heart open to all around her. But their last day of high school becomes their final day together after one of them brings a gun to school to resolve a mysterious feud. When the police arrive, they discover two wounded girls, one so critically that she is not expected to recover. The third girl is dead, killed instantly by a shot to the heart.
What transpired that morning at Glendale High rocks the foundation of an affluent community in Baltimore's distant suburbs, a place that has barely recovered from an earlier, more comprehensible tragedy. For the shell-shocked parents, teachers, administrators, and students, healing must begin with answers to the usual questions - but only if the answers are safe ones, answers that will lead back to one girl and one family and absolve everyone else.
For Homicide Sgt. Harold Lenhardt, this case is a mystery with more twists than these grief-stricken suburbanites are willing to acknowledge - and the sole lucid survivor, a girl with a teenager's uncanny knack for stonewalling, strikes him as being less than honest. What is she concealing? Is she trying to protect herself or someone else? Even the simplest secrets can kill - and kill again if no one is willing to confront them.

Baker
& Taylor

Baltimore County homicide sergeant Harold Lenhardt faces a particularly baffling case involving three former high school best friends, including one who has been killed, a second who has been rendered comatose from a self-inflicted gunshot wound, and a third who continuously changes her story. 75,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Morrow, c2005
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780060506728
0060506725
Characteristics: 434 p. ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
LauraSteinert
Dec 10, 2014

This is the first non-Tess book worth reading. The others were awful; this one is okay. It is true that she has stuck by her new criteria of writing only unlikable characters, but she has finally made Lenhardt human enough that he is interesting. The bullying is timely, and the tragedy is far to common in today's high schools, but this is neither good literature nor a good read.

I know it is wrong to ascribe reality to fiction, but at this point, I just have to say there are better ways to come to grips with the abuse one has suffered as a teen than to try to destroy one's literary reputation while wreaking vengeance on those who were mean to you in junior high. From now on, I read only Tess novels and skip Lippman's self-therapy.

s
SportyReader
Dec 14, 2011

The book is a good read- Laura Lippman has a way of sucking you in with her rambling style and before you know it hours pass by without you even realizing it.

However, the downside is that the stories are almost too long, by about 100 pages. This is the second stand alone book I've read and each time I felt like skipping towards the end to find out what the truth is.

The second downside is that the mystery, when revealed, is quite disappointing. It was that way with Every Secret Thing and it was the same with To The Power of Three. I felt let down when I got to the end.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top