The Glass Rainbow

The Glass Rainbow

A Dave Robicheaux Novel

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Beloved Burke hero Detective Dave Robicheaux returns to New Iberia to solve a series of grisly murders.
Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, 2010
Edition: 1st Simon & Schuster hardcover ed
ISBN: 9781439128312
Characteristics: 433 p. ; 25 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Feb 01, 2015

Couldn't get into it. Perhaps another time...

Jan 14, 2014

I am a James Lee Burke fan, his poetic descriptions of his area are beautiful, the complete opposite to his characters. In "Glass Rainbow" the characters and their interactions are so vicious and graphic their language and portrayals are hideous, I am sorry but Dave Robicheaux and Clete are not readable for me in this particular book

Jun 06, 2012

I've just finished ' The Glass Rainbow' by James Lee Burke and here is another well known and very popular writer about whom I've mixed feelings - loved some of his books but not others. In many books, as in Glass Rainbow, Burke has a rambling, brooding, lyrical style that I personally find tedious. In this book the main characters are Dave Robicheux and family,and the inimitable Clete Purcell. He tends to draw wonderful characters and their actions, but his main plot wanders and introduces many sub-plots almost to the point of confusion (or am I just too picky? ).
The truest review I've heard of this book is from the Miami Herald - -“A novel as dark and brooding as a night deep in the bayou.”

Jan 21, 2011

Noir hard-boiled P.I. written by a poet.

I don't even believe Louisiana is real place, I think the author makes it all up from his fevered imagination. And, how old did he say Dave Robicheaux is now?

I can't believe the raccoon survived this long!

Sep 27, 2010

I couldn't wait any longer, so went out and purchased this book. The good news is that some lucky person will move up on the hold list. For fans of Dave and Cletus, it was worth the wait. I have been reading the Robicheaux series for over 10 years and it never disappoints. His descriptions of New Orleans and Louisiana and the characters he meets and the seamy side of life that he is drawn into as a detective, are illuminated by his masterful writing.
I read it in a weekend and was truly sorry it was over so soon. This is his best one yet ......


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at DCPL

To Top