The Complete Series

DVD - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
David Starkey examines the story of the English crown from the fall of Rome to the 1660s. Starkey covers nearly 250 years, from Charles II to Victoria. Replete with infidelities, betrayals, and rivalries, English history emerges as a compelling family saga.
Publisher: Silver Spring, MD : Acorn Media, [2010]
ISBN: 9781598284546
Characteristics: 5 videodiscs (ca. 776 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Jun 12, 2017

Excellent series about the British Monarchy starts from Roman occupation ends with the reign of Queen Victoria. 16 - 50 minute episodes (so pace yourself!) I got a bit lost at times trying to remember which King or Queen was being discussed (are we on Henry III or Henry IV?) and after all the episodes, they were still fighting Catholicism v. Protestantism 200 years after Henry VIII. And it seems that England was at war with France basically all the time. Overall, an interesting series if you enjoy history- gets a bit talky, has some historical reenactment with actors, but it is mainly Starkey walking around and talking.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at DCPL

To Top