Eva's Eye

Eva's Eye

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
7
Rate this:
Houghton
The original Inspector Sejer mystery available for the first time in English.

Eva Magnus is a struggling artist and the divorced mother of a seven-year-old child, Emma. One afternoon she and Emma are walking by the river when an unknown man's body floats to the surface of the icy water. She tells her daughter to wait patiently while she calls the police, but when she reaches the phone box Eva dials another number altogether.

When the police discover the body, it doesn't take long for Inspector Sejer and his team to determine that the man, Egil, died in a violent attack. But Egil has been missing for months and the trail to his killer has gone cold. It's as puzzling as another unsolved case on Sejer's desk: the murder of a prostitute who was found dead just three days before Egil went missing.

Sejer sets to work piecing together the fragments of these two impossible cases; soon enough he realizes that they might not be as separate as they had seemed. Gripping and thought-provoking, Eva's Eye is Karin Fossum's first novel featuring the iconic Inspector Sejer.

In the first novel in the Sejer series, Eva and her young daughter Emma are walking by the river when Emma spots something floating in the water. It's the body of a man, and what's more, a man Eva recognizes. Sejer and Skarre piece together the stories behind two unsolved murders . . . does it all lead back to Eva?



Baker & Taylor
Investigating the murder of a dead man who had been missing for months, Inspector Sejer and his team discover that his death is linked to the murder of a prostitute and to Eva, a struggling artist and a divorced single mother who holds to key to solving both murders. 15,000 first printing.

Baker
& Taylor

Investigating the murder of a man who had been missing for months, Inspector Sejer and his team discover that his death is linked to the murder of a prostitute and to Eva, a struggling artist who holds the key to solving both murders.

Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2013
Edition: 1st U.S. ed
ISBN: 9780547738758
0547738757
Characteristics: 292 p. ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Anderson, James

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
maipenrai
Dec 11, 2016

In the Darkness (2012)
(Eva's Eye)
(The first book in the Inspector Sejer series)

b
bisbiglio
Jun 18, 2016

I found myself going around scared for days after I read this.

h
homermayor
Feb 17, 2016

Also published as "In the Darkness"

CMLibrary_csmith Feb 07, 2016

Fans of Norwegian and Scandinavian authors will love this mystery! The first mystery featuring Inspector Sejer, this is a thrilling mystery that will keep you interested from start to finish.

t
taffy73
Mar 26, 2014

for fossum fans evas eye is the same book as in the darkness

ChristchurchLib Mar 09, 2014

"Norwegian police inspector Konrad Sejer, a reserved and thoughtful man, finds it odd that he has two homicide cases in a small town that usually has none. Both victims -- a family man and a call girl -- died within days of each other, and both have a connection to a divorced mother named Eva, who scrapes a living together by selling the occasional painting. Though Eva's Eye is the 1st Inspector Sejer novel written by author Karin Fossum, who's known as Norway's Queen of Crime, eight later books in the series have already been published in English. If you like psychologically rich, well-paced tales like those by Sophie Hannah, you'll want to give Fossum's work a try; this "tour de force" (Kirkus Reviews) is a great place to start." http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/4e094271-7a6c-4526-9ef2-415c153c18ca?postId=18927596-1a79-4a5f-8a46-86587c18fccf

j
JWRenkema
Sep 15, 2013

I really enjoyed this book. It is an easy read in which detective Seyer reminds me a little of Wallender, the famous Swedish detective brought to life by Henning Mankell.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top