Night Heron

Night Heron

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
Twenty years after he was caught as a British spy, Peanut escapes a labor camp in northwest China and seeks assistance from a crusading journalist in exchange for military secrets.
Publisher: New York, NY :, Redhook,, 2014
Edition: First US edition
ISBN: 9780316399838
0316399833
Characteristics: 387 pages ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TJJ52
Sep 17, 2015

supsenseful look inside China and inside espionage.

r
rturle
Oct 15, 2014

This book is excellent, and is certainly one of the best of this genre. This is first bo k by Brookes. I hope for many more. Very readable. His descriptions of China are accurate and detailed. The plot is very well thought out. Definitely a 5 star book.

ChristchurchLib Jul 13, 2014

"Twenty years after his imprisonment for protesting in Tiananmen Square, Chinese engineer Li Huasheng escapes the labour camp, eager to return to Beijing and pick up where he left off -- trading Chinese technology secrets to the U.K. in hopes of defecting. Once in the city, he coerces a former friend into releasing secret documents, then gives them to a British reporter with instructions to hand them to the British embassy. Which is when all hell breaks loose for both of them -- betrayals and double-crosses abound. Multiple narrators help sustain the tension, while fast-paced chase scenes and the plausible nature of the documents make this debut "compulsively readable" (Kirkus Reviews) and perfect for fans of Cold War thrillers looking for something a little more contemporary." Thrillers and Suspense July 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/2c47e9e5-d355-491f-87b1-c136ab375b01?postId=36471ee9-07d6-46ed-ba48-5fde3e03c300

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top