Ghachar Ghochar

Ghachar Ghochar

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting novel about an upwardly mobile family splintered by success in rapidly changing India. "It's true what they say--it's not we who control money, it's the money that controls us." In this masterful novel by the acclaimed Indian writer Vivek Shanbhag, a close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company. As the narrator--a sensitive young man who is never named--his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and begin to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances and desires realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things begin to become "ghachar ghochar"--a nonsense phrase that, to the narrator, comes to mean something entangled beyond repair. Told in clean, urgent prose, and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings--and consequences--of financial gain in contemporary India"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, New York :, Penguin Books,, [2017]
ISBN: 9780143111689
014311168X
Characteristics: 119 pages ; 18 cm
Additional Contributors: Perur, Srinath - Translator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

e
empbee
Sep 13, 2017

Simple but strong story telling; smooth style - thanks to an excellent translation from the not commonly known Kannada language. The "rags to riches" may not have the positive effect on a close family. An excellent little book without moralizing.

m
mclarjh
Aug 18, 2017

Delightful little story.

m
Margush
Jul 01, 2017

I love getting to know different cultures through books. Especially those describing family matters and relationships within those cultures. This book is beautifully written and full of details that give you a glimpse into an Indian family private life. This book is very wise but not in a patronizing by rather subtle and reflective way. The only thing is that I didn't understand how it's ended...well, and it ended quite abruptly as well, hence 4 stars only. If you read the book and understood what happened to Anita, please do share your thoughts here. I'll come back to read.

l
lostintheshelves
May 17, 2017

The first novel translated into English from the Southern Indian language of Kannada, Ghachar Ghochar is short enough to read in one setting but memorable long afterwards. The narrator is a passive young man whose ideas about money and family boundaries differ wildly from those of his middle-class wife, Anita, but the story is really about his family, how their experience of communal poverty followed by sudden wealth (due to an uncle's "spice" business) has bonded them together, for better or (more likely) worse. It's about the private languages of families, the way they talk and fight in words only they can understand, as well as the perils of new money. The book is full of brief aphorisms on family life that are both caustic and painfully true, and probably has even deeper resonance for South Asian readers or those from families who have gone through the traumas and transformations of immigration.

o
okbookgirl
Mar 22, 2017

Wow! A small novel (118 pages), but an engrossing story about the dynamics amongst south Indian family members who work hard and arrive to wealth in their lives. But does wealth always bring happiness and comfort? Well... This story is told from the perspective of a young man who watches the changes and tensions this situation brings to his family and himself. Concise and brilliant writing. Penguin Publishing, please translate more of Mr. Shanbhag's work! Highly recommended.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top