POMEGRANATE DREAMS

POMEGRANATE DREAMS

The Unlikely Journey of An American Muslim Woman

Book - 2018
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
The dramatic, spiritual memoir of a prominent Muslim woman working to empower women and girls across the world—for readers of Malala Yousafzai and Azar Nafisi.
 
Raised in a progressive Muslim family in the shadows of the Himalayan mountains, where she attended a Catholic girls’ school, Daisy Khan experienced culture shock when her family sent her to the States to attend high school and live with an aunt and uncle in a mostly Jewish Long Island suburb.
 
Ambitious and talented, she quickly climbed the corporate ladder after college as an architectural designer in New York City, where among other jobs she worked in the World Trade towers for Shearson Lehman Brothers. Though she loved the freedom that came with being a career woman, she felt that something was missing from her life. One day a friend suggested that she visit a Sufi mosque in Tribeca. To her surprise, she discovered a home there, eventually marrying the mosque’s imam, Feisal Abdul Rauf, and finding herself, as his wife, at the center of a community in which women turned to her for advice. Guided by her faith, she embraced her role as a women’s advocate and devised innovative ways to help end child marriage, fight against genital mutilation, and, most recently, educate young Muslims to resist the false, seductive promises of ISIS recruiters.
                 
Born with Wings is a powerful, moving, and eye-opening account of Daisy Khan’s inspiring journey—of her self-actualization and her success in opening doors for other Muslim women and building bridges between cultures. It powerfully demonstrates what one woman can do—with faith, love, and resilience.

Publisher: Random House Inc 2018
ISBN: 9780812995268
0812995260

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

  Loading...

Find it at DCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top