What We See in the Stars

What We See in the Stars

An Illustrated Tour of the Night Sky

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
Random House, Inc.
A richly illustrated guide to the myths, histories, and science of the celestial bodies of our solar system, with stories and information about constellations, planets, comets, the northern lights, and more.

Combining art, mythology, and science, What We See in the Stars gives readers a tour of the night sky through more than 100 magical pieces of original art, all accompanied by text that weaves related legends and lore with scientific facts. This beautifully packaged book covers the night sky's most brilliant features--such as the constellations, the moon, the bright stars, and the visible planets--as well as less familiar celestial phenomena like the outer planets, nebulae, and deep space. Adults seeking to recapture the magic of youthful stargazing, younger readers interested in learning about natural history and outer space, and those who appreciate beautiful, hand-painted art will all delight in this charming book.

Baker & Taylor
This illustrated guide to the heavens combines the myths, historic significance and various interpretations of objects seen in the night sky, including the 88 recognized constellations, meteors, eclipses, planets, moons and much more.

Baker
& Taylor

An illustrated guide to the heavens combines the myths, historic significance, and various interpretations of objects seen in the night sky, including the recognized constellations, meteors, eclipses, planets, and moons.

Publisher: [Berkeley], California :, Ten Speed Press,, [2017]
ISBN: 9780399579530
0399579532
Characteristics: 157 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
mangoberri
Mar 28, 2018

Beautifully illustrated, and it is about space, what more can you ask? If you love the arts and have a wonder for the stars that shine, then this book is great for you. Read it for the info, be dazzled by the artwork.

LPL_IlkaI Mar 18, 2018

Kelsey Oseid's book is terrific for fans of Rachel Ignotofsky and Lisa Congdon! What We See in the Stars is an excellent blend of art and scientific facts regarding things we see in the night sky, but perhaps know little about. This book would make a great book for parents to read along with older readers and may provide some inspiration for nighttime adventuring!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at DCPL.

Try searching for What We See in the Stars to see if DCPL owns related versions of the work.


Suggest for Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top